Geekmom and Pink do RI Comic-Con 2017

Pink turned 14 in September.  14!!  When did I become a parent to a 14 year old!!  Crap, I am getting old!

She wanted to do Comic-Con in November with her friends and we decided that tickets to Comic-Con would make a great present.  She wanted to get into cosplay and decided to do Lapis from Steven Universe.

Lapis-deko

She searched the internet and found all the items she needed.  Amazon Prime FTW.

So, yesterday we headed out to Comic-Con.  We met up with 4 of her friends and two other moms and proceeded to wait in line outside.

20171112_101939.jpg

My view for most of the Con

Luckily, her wings folded back so I was able to help her get through the crowds a little easier.  I also got to hold the wings when things got tight or when she wanted to explore a vendor.

20171112_111659.jpg

Just here to hold her wings, folks

While we were at the Con, we also took some time to do some advertising for DDO.

This was my first Comic-Con type thing.  Pink had a complete blast.  She was the only Lapis there and got tons of photo requests.  Honestly, I prefer Pax or Gaming Conventions.  I am not into meet and greets.  There were a few panels I was interested in, but the teenagers were not.  And I was there to make sure Pink was safe.  All the other teens ran off, but I was happy that she stayed with me the whole time.  Although, it could have been that I had the wallet and held her wings……

20171112_120044.jpg

I did get to have my picture taken with the TARDIS!!!!

 

171112_160458.gif

She did not want to paint her whole body.  The blue bandana was there to cover her scar from two years ago.  She did end up relaxing and taking it off.  The skirt came up high enough to cover.  Very few 14 year old girls want to show a vertical scar when they are trying to feel special.

And feel special she did.  She got quite a few pictures taken with other people.  Her favorite was a little girl who thought that Pink was Sadness from Inside/Out.  Pink just made her happy and said nothing.

Ultimately, it was a great present and a great intro to Cosplay.  I was happy that her first experience went so well.  Even her friends who had cosplayed here before were surprised.

Me, however, I cannot wait until PaxEast in April.  Is anyone going??????

3 thoughts on “Geekmom and Pink do RI Comic-Con 2017

  1. EvenNote

    That costume is AMAZING. I’d totally have been one of the people asking for pics.

    I’m not sure if I’m actually going to buy a ticket for PAX East yet, but I’m definitely planning on going to the DDO meetup!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment