Geekmom goes on a Facebook Rant

what-if-meme

Okay, so this is a ranting type of post.  It will most likely be my least read post. This has absolutely nothing to do with gaming, but more with being a mom.  And since I am Geekmom, it works.  At least for me.  The rest of you may want to back up a bit.  No, back up a little more…. little more….Okay, you may be safe.  No promises.

Some of you know that Pink’s younger sister is Autistic.   Geoff and his Gamer Girl, mostly of our guildies, and everyone who went out to dinner with us from DDO last year before Pax East know.

She is 11 years old.  Smart as a whip.  Cute as a button.  Devious as the Devil.  And Autistic.  Not the quirky kind either.  While she is verbal, her behaviors put her on the more severe side.

She now is just getting to understand that she is Autistic and will be for the rest of her life.  She has even wanted to not be Autistic.  And this kills me.

I have belonged to a group of women who are parents to children on the spectrum.  From all across the spectrum.  We started together on BabyCenter.  We moved to a private board when BabyCenter changed its format about 7 yrs old.  Now, we are in a private group on Facebook.  It was there that we had the following conversation:

Mom1:

Did any of you know that the breast cancer awareness “games”, the ones where you pick a random comment and post it to your wall, are now Autism Awareness “games”?

I honestly dont like them at all! Never have. I am all for awareness but why make stupid posts about it? I am sure I am the only one that feels this way. Which is fine. I was just caught off guard that they are now for Autism Awareness

As you can imagine, NOT ONE of us thought that this was a good idea, especially since this was one of the options:

Mom1: A friend posted that mayo on Reese’s peanut butter cups was good. I made the mistake and commented that is sounded gross to me. Next thing I got was a PM for participating in this game and how it was for autism awareness

PM: You shouldn’t have liked or commented on my last status hahaha. Now you have to pick from one of the below and post it as your status. This is the 2017 Autism Awareness game. Don’t be a spoil sport. Pick your poison from one of these and post it as your status.

1. Just found a squirrel in my car!

2. Just used my kids to get out of a speeding ticket.

3. How do you get rid of foot fungus?

4. All of my bras are missing!

5. I think I just accepted a marriage proposal online?!

6. I’ve decided to stop wearing underwear.

7. It’s confirmed I’m going to be a mommy/daddy.

8. Just won a chance audition on America’s got talent!

9. I’ve been accepted on master chef.

10. I’m getting a pet monkey!

11. I just peed myself!

12. Really thinking about getting butt implants!

13. Just won 700 on a scratcher!

14. We’re moving to Vermont at the end of the year!

15. Mayonnaise on Reese’s peanut butter cups is sooo good!

16. I’ve just been accepted on come dine with me whoop whoop.

Post with no explanations. Sorry, I fell for it too. Looking forward to your post. Ahhh don’t ruin it. (Don’t let the secret out). And remember it’s all for the 2017 Autism Awareness. Have fun!

Besides the inappropriateness of inviting a mother of a child with Autism to participate in such a game when this is her daily freaking life, the idea of relegating Autism Awareness to eating something gross is insulting.  Look at these options!  HOW DOES THIS RAISE AUTISM AWARENESS???

At this point, the only people who are not aware of Autism are those living under a rock or in a jungle.  Autistic people do not need awareness.  They need acceptance.  To be as they are.  Without forcing them into a round hole that they cannot fit into.

So, needless to say, I was rather fit to be tied and decided to head off anything thinking that I would be interested in this.

Prepare to get your knickers in a twist.

My Facebook post:

There is a “Autism Awareness game” going around on Facebook where you post a rather foolish statement and then send whoever posts on it a PM saying that they have to do the same. Many of you know that I have an autistic daughter. You may be tempted to include me in this. PLEASE DO NOT.
This is NOT Autism Awareness. Those on the spectrum are not a game to be played on Facebook. They are real people. With feelings. If you want to raise Autism Awareness, DO SOMETHING REAL.
Help me figure out how to not let the school system that she is in screw her over for her education. Help me educate society about her. Tell people to mind their own f’ing business when she has a meltdown in public. Help me keep her safe in society and from society. Help me know what is going to happen when she is no longer young and cute and has a meltdown that requires police. Help me when I have to call said police to have her taken to the hospital for evaluation. Help me figure out how to protect her from sexual predators. Help me figure out what she can do after high school ends.  Help me figure out what happens when I die and there is no one to take care of her, becuase this is my number one fear.
Stop playing stupid games and do something.

Feel free to share THIS!

Seriously folks, how do games like this raise any awareness of any of the conditions that it is used to “educate”?  I have seen this game for Breast Cancer, MS, and a host of other conditions.  How is this raising awareness?  Is the only way that you can think about a disease, a cancer, a neurological difference etc is to PLAY GAMES?

Read.  Ask questions. Educate yourself if you want answers.  Volunteer if you want to raise awareness.

If you want to play a Facebook game, go play Candy Crush.  As for me, I will be over on DDO and ESO with my friends and family, killing monsters while pretending them to be my daughter’s disability.

Rant over.  You can come out of hiding now.

5 thoughts on “Geekmom goes on a Facebook Rant

    1. judyenaz Post author

      You two are awesome friends. You give us someone to vent to at night. And you kept Amanda safe and happy talking to her the night that Pink’s guinea pig died. It was so cute that she was willing to put on that Ewok costume just for your Gamer Girl!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  1. EvenNote

    This… I have no words. Well, almost none. But give me a sec…

    OK. Vile. Tasteless. Cruel. Inhuman. Asinine.

    There’s a start.

    This crap takes Facebook stupidity to a whole new level. And that, most unfortunately, is really saying something.

    I’m sorry you have to deal with this kind of crap. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. House of Grouse

    I have a close friend whose son is on the spectrum, the education system really let him down as in the UK schools are judged on kids getting grades. The school marked the work as higher than it was and a teacher even filled in part of the exams. My friend only found out afterwards and now her son is being let down by the higher education system. I could go on but having heard how the young man has been treated and now how the family are trying to pick up the pieces I have got angry. I have a physical disability but not one I was born with. BUT I see comments on facebook and the like and I just want to scream. I try to fight ignorance but too many people believe that simply writing something can have a real impact.

    I truly hope that people learn and do not make assumptions, that friends not only listen but grow up about how to deal with and help those who need help. Sorry rambling but I get upset with ignorance.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

