Autism and Dungeons and Dragons

Our younger daughter has Autism.  She was diagnosed at 28 months old and at that time was non-verbal.  She has since found her voice but still struggles with being Autistic in a world not meant for her.  We sometimes think that she belongs in a slightly more simpler age except there would be no internet which she would not find amusing.

She is very smart. To give you some examples, she used her Dad’s ATM pin code to unlock the parental locks on her DS so she could get to the internet.  At eight years old.  At nine, she figured out how to switch internet servers in our house so she could get online before 7AM.  At the same age, she figured out that if you surf through YouTube favorites, you can bypass the YouTube block that your dad put on the servers.  I could not get to YouTube, but she could.  If she only used her powers for good…..

Lately there have been a few articles about Autism and D&D which I find very exciting.  The idea of being able to share something with her that means so much to us is very enticing.

The articles talk about how empowering the game is for them.  It is would help, in my opinion, as social stories.  I want to share a few of these.

There is a great article that talks about how D&D saved the life of his autistic son .  It is a great story.

Also, on Pixelkin, there is a video on Autistic teens finding a safe place in Dungeons and Dragons.

Another interesting article involves a 12 year old boy who helped his scientist dad use D&D to help identify Autism.

I am hoping to get my younger daughter interested in playing.  She is only ten, so she is on the young side.  Gamer Child got the D&D Starter Set for her birthday perhaps we can all learn together.  I talked to her HBTS worker yesterday and she was interested in learning as well.  So looks like a plan!

Very excited to see if she is interested.  I will keep you posted!

Footnote: I used the term Autistic rather than child with Autism for a reason.  I have read that adult Autistic people usually refer to themselves as such.  Saying a child with Autism is treating it like a disease rather than the complex neuro differences.  As I respect my daughter and the community that she belongs to, I use that term instead.  My apologies to those who do not feel the same way.

2 thoughts on “Autism and Dungeons and Dragons

  1. Tholgrin

    I personally know an individual that used the sense of accomplishment and empowerment attained via DDO as a focus to help her overcome agoraphobia. I know autism is significantly more complex in the sense it isn’t something that can just be overcome, but I still sincerely hope you and your daughter experience similarly positive results!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

