My Dragonet

“My nightly craft is winged in white, a dragon of night dark sea.
Swift born, dream bound and rudderless, her captain and crew are me.
We’ve sailed a hundred sleeping tides where no seaman’s ever been
And only my white-winged craft and I know the wonders we have seen.”
Anne McCaffrey, Dragonsong

I have wanted a dragonet ever since I read Dragonsong by Anne McCaffrey when I was 11.  I wanted a small dragon that would sit on my shoulder and croon into my ear.  A dragonet to sing with me.  But alas, real life ruined that dream.

Like Hagrid, I want a dragon.

Three years ago I came across this pattern on Etsy and Ravelry.  At last, I could have my dragonet.  I never got a chance to make the pattern.  I had started the pattern one day at work but the beginning of the pattern looks really wrong.  Trust me.  Really wrong.

But last week, I need a pattern to work on Saturday night that would work with drinking bourbon.  For some reason, knitting lace is really difficult on the second glass of bourbon at 10:30PM.  So I broke out the Dragonet.

My husband teased me about the shape of the early project.  Like I said, it looks really wrong.  Like a warmer for a body part…..

But by later in the week, my Dragonet was taking shape.

wpid-20150806_141106.jpg

Here all the pieces are lined up ready to be attached.

See, the head of the Dragonet looks odd without the horns.

See, the head of the Dragonet looks odd without the horns.

Here he is with his horns and spines.

Here he is with his horns and spines.

My Dragonet

My Dragonet

His wings are a bit droopy.  I added 16 gauge wire but in two pieces for each wing.  Next time, I shall use one whole piece.

He is about 27-28” long from snout to tip of his tail.

Isn’t he sweet?!!!

I meant for him to go over my monitors at my work desk upstairs.  Unfortunately, my Gamer Child has seen my Dragonet and has claimed him for herself.  Snot-nosed brat.

Oh well, it just means that I get to make another one with the changes I want to make like ordering cat’s eye safety eyes or using frosted beads.  Right now, I am trying with a much thinner fingering weight yarn and a 2.0 crochet hook.

I shall have my Dragonet soon!

“Oh, Tongue, give sound to joy and sing
Of hope and promise on dragonwing”
Anne McCaffrey, Dragonsong

 

4 thoughts on “My Dragonet

    1. judyenaz Post author

      It went well. I had a blast. We had technical difficulties with my headset though. Had to use Craig’s computer and headset. May be ordering a new headset…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

