Confessions of a Geek Mom

Confessions of a Geek Mom

I am a geek. I am a mom. We are raising geeks in our house. I love Doctor Who, Star Wars, Star Trek, Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit, Firefly(yes, I am still bitter) and a host of other geek movies and shows.
I play online video games. I love Dungeons and Dragons Online(DDO), but have played Star Wars, LOTRO, Age of Conan and a few others. I have used my eldest daughter run my character through open areas in DDO while I worked on dinner.
I have played table top D&D and Vampire the Masquerade. I met my husband playing D&D. He was my dungeon master. (I giggle typing that…sounds dirty). I have been to conventions. I have played in LARPS.
My geek status is not sci-fy based. I also am a fiber geek. I crochet and knit. I spin yarn with a lovely Kromski Minstrel spinning wheel. I dye yarn in my kitchen. I especially like to create geeky designs. I just finished knitting a GOT-inspired shawl called Stormborn that I plan on painting to match the wings of a character in my favorite set of novels. Spinning yarn is not just the newest hobby; it is assuring my role in a post-apocalyptic society.
I read paranormal romance novels. Yup…more geek. Thank heavens for Kindles. No one can see the smut I read.
I am raising a daughter who has read all the Harry Potter books and is excited to go to Girl Scout Camp this summer for a Muggle No More session for a whole week of Harry Potter-themed camp. She is hoping that they are all sorted into Houses.
I have tried blogging before but got bored. Plus, my first blog had a bit to do with my younger daughter’s struggles with autism. I got worried that she would use “THE GOOGLE” when she was older and see those posts. So I stopped out of respect for her privacy. So I thought about blogging about all my crafty geekness but then had to have two shoulder surgeries, so that fell aside.
But after reading my friend’s blogs about gaming, life with gaming, friends and gaming, I decided that I really could combine them all in one blog. And now that I am friends with “THE TWITTER”, I can post to more people. I am not going to be as famous as Geoff Hanna but who needs fanbois and fangrls?
I just want to have fun.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Geek Mom

Leave a Reply

